Mary Grigor Centre. Image credit Barry Alsop.
Image
Mary Grigor Centre

The Mary Grigor Centre is the official name of an archival and interpretive centre located within the Bankfoot House Heritage Precinct.

1998 Old Gympie Road, Glass House Mountains

Mary Grigor together with her husband William established Bankfoot House in 1868 as a lunch stop for Cobb & Co Coaches on the Brisbane to Gympie route. Mary made a significant contribution to the early pioneering life of the community.

This new purpose-built facility provides:

  • archival storage for the significant Bankfoot House collection
  • a multimedia educational interpretive centre
  • spaces for events, performance and workshops
  • amenities
  • conservation workspace for the Friends of Bankfoot House
  • ten car parks are available in front of the Mary Grigor Centre
  • safe bus set down area at the front of the property (parking is not permitted in the grounds of Bankfoot House).

Bankfoot House is open each week from Friday to Sunday, 10.00 am – 3.00 pm. Guided tours are available for groups and schools by appointment. Phone 5420 8600. Bookings are essential.

Mary Grigor: A remarkable life

Delve into Our Heritage, Our Stories through the life of Mary Grigor, Bankfoot House pioneer. Recorded on the Sunshine Coast as part of the Mary Grigor Centre project, an initiative of the Sunshine Coast Council, 2015. Mary Grigor – a remarkable life – is a Sunshine Coast Council Cultural Heritage Levy initiative. 

You can view the film online or purchase copies at Bankfoot House or email culturalheritage@sunshinecoast.qld.gov.au.